Test of Fire - First Bull Run 1861
Test of Fire - First Bull Run 1861

FAQ for Test of Fire - First Bull Run 1861

Do Generals move like any other unit and thus "count" for the number of units to move?

For the movement rules there is no difference between infantry, artillery and leaders— each leaders counts as one of the counters you move with a Move action.


The map shows different areas and the rule say that you may move or fire to ADJACENT areas. What happens when an area touch another only witha small vertex? Are they adjacent or not?

Two areas that touch only on a vertex are NOT adjacent.


Similar question for RETREATS: May I pass through a vertex when it is the only point where to areas touch?

Two areas that touch only on a vertex are NOT adjacent and are not "closest".


When we have to retreat "towards" means that we have to retreat to an area "closer" to the retreating town: "Closer" means in number of areas, I suppose?

That is correct, "closest" is determined by number of areas, not physical distance.


Play card is free, from the rules, so we suppose that you may play then AT ANY TIME during your turn but, even after combats have been solved?

Yes, you may play a card anytime between actions. Since you may not play a card during the resolution of an action (page 3), you may NOT roll your artillery to see if you hit, play a card to move a counter, and then roll your damage results.


Assault: Rules states that the defender on a Hill hits with 4-5-6 instead of only 5-6. Does this apply only to the original defender (if his units still remain on the Hill) or to the inactive player?

After the defender has rolled once and the attacker has rolled once, the attacker must retreat all of his units if any defenders remain.


One other clarification on another issue: Applying hit results?

Once your oppenent has rolled to hit and then rolled any hit-results, 1) You must first assign damage to your units in the area. You may assign 1 damage to any unit—a unit already damaged is eliminated. You may assign 2 damage to a unit that starts undamaged—thus eliminating it. You may not assign damage to an eliminated unit. If all units are eliminated, excess damage is ignored. 2) You must then assign the retreat results to units in the area. A retreat result may be assigned to any remaining unit (an eliminated unit may NOT be assigned a retreat result) Only one retreat result may be assigned to a given unit. Once all units have been assigned a retreat result any excess retreats are ignored.


Mayfair Newsletter Catan Newsletter Facebook Google+ Twitter Watch Unblocked Games Catanism Subscribe Pinterest

©2014 Mayfair Games, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

ASTRA TIA NSSEA GAMA BBB